HB21-1110: Colorado Laws For Persons With Disabilities

House Bill: https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/hb21-1110

SIPA is following the State of Colorado's Technology Accessibility Guidelines 

The Colorado.gov CMS platform built and managed by Tyler Colorado in accordance with the requirements identified by the Governor’s Office of Information Technology is a tool that allows all sites on the platform to attain compliance with the WCAG 2.1 AA guidelines, which is the current accessibility standard. All sites on the Colorado.gov platform are accessible for the commonly recognized accessibility features such as color contrast; the ability to use big buttons for links; keyboard navigation; and support of logical header structure to name a few. We work very closely with OIT to deploy changes to our platform to address accessibility issues or the needs of our customers. We've been in partnership with OIT on this effort since 2018 or so.

OIT Technology Accessibility Program
The Technology Accessibility Program (TAP) was created to help state agencies to provide equal access to state services, programs or activities. OIT, through TAP, gives state agencies tools and resources to implement up-to-date accessibility best practices such as:

Accessibility News from OIT - August 2023

W3C to adopt new accessibility guidelines this month

Colorado law requires all state and local government entities to comply with the most recently published version of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (§24-85-103, C.R.S.). This means that when the latest version of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) is released later this month, WCAG Version 2.2 will be adopted as the State of Colorado Accessibility Standards with immediate effect. 

What does this mean for you?

  1. Your team will need to update all WCAG 2.1 references to read “WCAG 2.2.” Be sure to start by updating your Accessibility Statement on your website(s).
  2. You will need to familiarize yourself with the changes in the latest version of WCAG. More information is in the “What’s new in WCAG 2.2?” section below. 
  3. Your organization will need to incorporate the changes to the required Level A and AA Success Criteria into your accessibility plan.

What’s new in WCAG 2.2?

WCAG 2.2 extends WCAG 2.1 by adding nine new Success Criteria, definitions to support them and guidelines to organize the additions. This approach helps to make it clear that sites which conform to WCAG 2.2 will also conform to WCAG 2.1. The following Success Criteria are new in WCAG 2.2:

To learn more, review the What’s New in WCAG 2.2 web page. If you have any questions about how these changes will affect your organization, please email OIT_Accessibility@state.co.us.

OIT Accessibility How-to Guides

Plain Language
Accessible PDFs and Documents
Page Structure
Accessible Meetings Checklist
How to use transcripts and captions in Google Meet
Creating an accessible Google Doc
Creating an accessible PDF from a Google Doc
Accessible Google Slides presentations
Creating an accessible PDF from a Google Slides
Make your Microsoft Word documents accessible
Make your Microsoft Powerpoint presentations accessible

OIT helps agencies take the first steps toward improving their services’ accessibility now, and keeping up to date with best practices as they continue to evolve.

Contact the Technology Accessibility Program in the Governor's Office of Information Technology at oit_accessibility@state.co.us!

OIT March 2023 Newsletter
OIT April 2023 Newsletter
OIT May 2023 Newsletter
OIT June 2023 Newsletter
OIT July 2023 Newsletter
OIT August 2023 Newsletter

OIT Newsletter Archive

Tyler Colorado tutorials for making your content accessible:

Adobe Acrobat tutorial for making PDFs accessible:

SiteImprove tutorial


Digital Accessibility required in Colorado